Rising seek Ballarat breakthrough

by Rebels Media

Wallaby Luke Jones has been ushered into the Melbourne Rising Round 4 team to face Queensland Country only days after returning from a Wallabies pre World Cup training camp in Japan.

In a massive boost for the Rising, the loose forward, who will be on standby for the national team over the course of the World Cup, will aim to guide his side to their first win of the NRC campaign.

His inclusion is a huge boost for the Rising and will no doubt buoy a vocal Sunday afternoon crowd in Ballarat.

“Coming out of a World Cup training camp, you can see that he’s in peak physical shape and ready to rip in. A month spent on a training paddock is enough to make anyone hungry for game time.”

Brighton Grammar junior Harry Potter looks set to make his long awaited Rising debut, named on the bench.

“Harry only touched down in Melbourne this week, so he will be busy getting up to speed with all of our content,” said Simona.

“Certainly his try scoring feats this year have been well documented and Sunday presents a great opportunity to benefit from what will be a pretty open game on a fast track up in Ballarat.”

The MARS Stadium venue holds fond memories for the Rising squad; many of the players present during the Rebels after-the-siren win over the Queensland Reds in their 2019 preseason trial game.

“The squad loves playing in Ballarat and the community has always supported us well when we have taken our games and training camps to the region,” stated Simona.

“The venue is first class and we’re looking forward to putting on a show for the people of Ballarat.”

Melbourne Rising team to take on Queensland Country at MARS Stadium, Ballarat, on Sunday 22 September at 1pm.

1 Matt Gibbon

2 Anaru Rangi

3 Vaauli Faamausili

4 Ross Haylett Petty

5 Esei Haangana

6 Luke Jones

7 Richard Hardwick

8 Rob Leota

9 Theo Strang

10 Rodney Iona

11 Ahmu Tuimalealiifano

12 James Sooialo

13 Semisi Tupou

14 Taylor Acheson 

15 Justin Marsters

16. Moli Sooaemalelagi

17. Fereti Saaga

18. Tetera Faulkner

19. Will Clift

20. Ikapote Tupai 

21. Delai Moto

22. William Lewesi

23. Harry Potter