End of an era as North retires from Rugby Victoria

· Super Rugby
by Rebels Media

Last night’s Rugby Victoria AGM marked the end of, arguably, the most significant era of growth and engagement in the history of Rugby Victoria with President Tim North confirming his retirement after ten years leading Rugby in the state.


Tim began his tenure in on the then Victorian Rugby Union (VRU) Board in 2006 before becoming President in 2010.

It was an auspicious and special time when the Melbourne Rebels were preparing for their first match of Super Rugby and the community game was beginning to flourish across Victoria.

Tim’s intellect, resilience and care have been hallmarks of his outstanding leadership throughout his 14 years of service; a time in which he also has also provided invaluable counsel to the Melbourne Rebels, having also been a Board Member at various times over the decade and continuously since 2017.

Speaking at the RV AGM last night, Tim told his many friends and colleagues present he was honoured and privileged to have been part of such a hardworking and driven group of volunteers and professionals.

“The RV Board I am leaving is a hard-working bunch of extraordinary people who have the game’s best interests at heart.

I will continue to work for Rugby in other ways, including on the Rebels Board, to grow the game and participation.

“Being the President of Rugby in Victoria has been a special and privileged position to be elected to and I wish to express my thanks to all clubs and all members of the Rugby community for your support over the years.

“The connection between the Rebels and Rugby Victoria is unique within Australian Rugby and I know will continue to be very effective into the future.

“My thanks to the staff of Rugby Victoria, especially Chris Evans as GM of RV, who has helped me more than any other and who consistently serve our constituents with excellence.”

Mr North’s successor will be long-time Rugby Victoria Director and current Melbourne Rebels Director, Neil Hay, who was elected unopposed at last night’s AGM.


Owain Stone was reappointed to the position of Finace Director  for a two year term and James Liley was appointed to the position of Director for a two year term.