Log in

Rebels Super W Team Announcement RD 2

Sat, 26/06/2021, 2:00 am
Rebels Media
by Rebels Media

The Melbourne Rebels Super W have announced their Round 2 Match Day 23 to face the Queensland Reds in Coffs Harbour this Sunday afternoon.

Rebels Super W Head Coach, Alana Thomas has made five changes to last weekend’s Starting XV, headlined by the inclusions of Wallaroos squad member’s Tiarah Minns and Georgia Cormick.

Minns was one of her side’s best during last weekend’s season opener, providing plenty of late game energy and physicality.The Melbourne University star told Stan Sports that although her side didn’t get the result they were after against the Brumbies, she believes a focus on set piece execution will go a long way to helping the Rebels claim their opening victory of the Super W season.

“There was a lot of positives from the weekend, but we definitely want to be more accurate with our attack and set pieces,” said Minns.

“From a defence point of view, we definitely want to get more aggressive with our lines, especially this week against the big line up of the Reds.”

Joining her in the starting XV is talented scrumhalf, Georgia Cormick, who is set to play her first Super W match of 2021, after recovering from injury.

Having debuted in 2019, Melbourne’s Vice Captain is one of her side’s most experienced players, having played eight Super W matches, with 3 Wallaroos appearances.Northern Panthers’ Rosalia Leumuava and the exciting, Jemma Collins, will also run out as starters for the first time on Sunday.

For Collins, Sunday’s promotion caps a remarkable rise through the ranks, having only switched from league to union just this year.

Emily Harvey, Celeste Utumapu and Maryann Utai will provide valuable front row support, while Norma Fuaiva’a, Utumalefata Eli, Kirsty Matapa, Sarah Hogan and Amy Williams rounding out the Rebels’ Match Day 23.

The Melbourne Rebels Super W face the Queensland Reds in Round 2 of the Super W competition. The clash can be seen ad-free, live and on demand on Stan Sports, with coverage beginning at 1 PM AEST.

  1. Janita Kareta (FR)
  2. Ashley Marsters (FR)
  3. Eirenei Nanai (FR)
  4. Nuala O’Connor
  5. Tiarah Minns
  6. Michaela Maunsell
  7. Melanie Kawa ©
  8. Willow Rowland
  9. Georgia Cormick
  10. Allysaa Lolesio-Pua
  11. Kelera Ratu
  12. Jade Te Aute
  13. Rosalia Leumuava
  14. Annie Buntine
  15. Jemma Collins
  16. Emily Harvey
  17. Celeste Utumapu
  18. Maryann Utai
  19. Norma Fuaiva’a
  20. Utumalefata Eli
  21. Kirsty Matapa
  22. Sarah Hogan
  23. Amy Williams