Carter Gordon named for Wallabies Debut

Thu, Jul 6, 2023, 7:00 AM
Rebels Media
by Rebels Media

Eddie Jones has selected four debutants for his opening Test as Wallabies coach against South Africa in Pretoria on July 9 (AEST time), including reigning Rebels Players’ Player, Carter Gordon. 

The twenty-two-year-old captivated the Super Rugby world this year with his fearless approach on both sides of the ball, playing 14 matches, scoring 7 tries. 

Gordon will be joined in the match day side by Reece Hodge, Matt Gibbon and Jordan Uelese, who will make his first Test appearance since 2021. 

Meanwhile, French-based lock Will Skelton will partner Nick Frost, with Arnold set to finish the game whilst Nonggorr earns his spot as Taniela Tupou continues his recovery from injury.

Reds winger Suliasi Vunivalu will get his debut start on the wing, joining fellow league convert Marika Koroibete and Tom Wright in the back three, having debuted off the bench against Jones’ England last July.

Reece Hodge will start at inside centre along with Len Ikitau, with Samu Kerevi coming off the bench as he continues to recover from a hamstring injury.

James Slipper has overcome a knock and will start at loosehead prop, with Waratahs hooker David Porecki and Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa completing the front-row.

"As a squad, the players have worked extremely hard since coming together as a group and we’ve prepared well this week," Jones said.

“The 23 players selected have an opportunity to be part of history with a win over South Africa in Pretoria on Saturday night.”

The Wallabies’ first Test of The eToro Rugby Championship will be broadcast ad-free, live and on-demand with extended coverage on Stan Sport.

Wallabies team to play South Africa at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria on Saturday 8 July, 5:05pm GMT/1:05am AEST (Sunday)

1. James Slipper (c) (127 Tests)

2. David Porecki (10 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (64 Tests)

4. Nick Frost (9 Tests)

5. Will Skelton (24 Tests)

6. Tom Hooper*

7. Michael Hooper (124 Tests)

8. Rob Valetini (30 Tests)

9. Nic White (59 Tests)

10. Quade Cooper (76 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (51 Tests)

12. Reece Hodge (62 Tests)

13. Len Ikitau (26 Tests)

14. Suliasi Vunivalu (1 Test)

15. Tom Wright (23 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (15 Tests)

17. Matt Gibbon (5 Tests)

18. Zane Nonggorr*

19. Richie Arnold*

20. Pete Samu (32 Tests)

21. Tate McDermott (21 Tests)

22. Samu Kerevi (41 Tests)

23. Carter Gordon*

*denotes uncapped