3 Melbourne Rebels Selected in Australia U20 Preliminary Squad

Mon, Nov 13, 2023, 3:12 AM
Rebels Media
by Rebels Media

Three Melbourne Rebels have been selected in the Australia U20 preliminary squad for next year’s international campaign. 

Homegrown duo Divad Palu and Judah Saumaisue have been named alongside Joey Fowler in Nathan Grey’s 45-man Australian U20 preliminary squad to begin preparations for an expanded international campaign in 2024. Leafi Talataina was not considered due to injury. 

Grey, along with assistant coaches Shannon Fraser and the newly-appointed Laurie Fisher, will take an active role in the players' training and development ahead of the squad's first camp in Canberra in February. 

In May next year Australia will host the first-ever Under-20 Rugby Championship, presenting the team with a valuable opportunity to test themselves against New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina. 

The inaugural tournament will be an important precursor to Australia's campaign at the 2024 World Rugby U20 Championship in South Africa. 

"We are excited with the talent that has emerged from this year's Super Rugby Men's U19 tournament, and we believe the players we have selected have the potential to make a significant impact on the international stage," Grey said. 

“Our coaching team is dedicated to providing them with the support and guidance they need to flourish and represent Australia with pride."

Australia U20 Preliminary Squad: 


Jack Barrett – Waratahs

Bryn Edwards – Waratahs

Jackson Stiel – Waratahs

Harvey Cordukes – Brumbies

Toby Macpherson – Brumbies

Dane Sawers - Force

Lachlan Hooper - Brumbies

Pat Sowerby - Reds

Sam Sahyoun- Brumbies

Tevita Alatini – Brumbies

Ollie McCrea - Waratahs

Charlie Brosnan – Reds

Joe Liddy - Reds

Arnie Tancred - Waratahs

Judah Saumaisue - Rebels

Macarius Pereira – Reds

Boston Morete – Brumbies

Drew Brndusic – Brumbies

Pat Gavin – Reds

Caleb Karangaroa – Force

Ben Di Staso – Waratahs

Manaia Tetana – Force

Jack Harley – Brumbies

Lington Leli – Brumbies


Dan Nelson – Brumbies

Cullen Gray – Brumbies

Lleyten Tautua - Brumbies

Divad Palu  - Rebels

Jackson Ropata – Waratahs

Archie Saunders – Waratahs

Will McCulloch – Reds

Doug Philipson – Force

Joey Fowler – Rebels

Jakob Biet – Brumbies

Jullien Caillol – Waratahs

Kauri Tipene-Grace – Force

Angus Staniforth – Brumbies

Billy Dickens – Waratahs

Will Nason – Reds

Jarrah McLeod – Brumbies

Frankie Goldsbrough – Reds

Tiam Toufan – Force

Shane Wilcox – Brumbies

Eli Sagala – Brumbies

Thomas Hayes – Brumbies

Not considered due to injury or Super Rugby Pacific commitments

Oniti Finau

Trevor King

Nick Bloomfield

Ben Daniels

Leafi Talataina

Dom Thygesen

Ryan McGloin

Max Jorgensen

Harry McLaughlin-Phillips

Ronan Leahy

Melbourne Rebels Take on Brumbies in the Capital
Match Report: Rebels Fight for the Fans in Tough Contest at Home
Super Rugby Pacific Round 13: Melbourne Rebels v Chiefs
Rebels ready to take opportunity to become greatest ever side