Four Rebels named in preliminary Australia U20s Squad

Wed, Apr 17, 2024, 3:41 AM
Rebels Media
by Rebels Media

Australia U20s coach Nathan Grey has confirmed a 35-player preliminary squad ahead of the inaugural U20s Rugby Championship.

The group will assemble next week in Kangaroo Valley, before being cut down to 31 ahead of May's event.

Rebels backrower Judiah Saumaisue been named in the squad, having represented Fiji at last year's U20 World Championships.

Alongside him is fellow Victorian Ottavio Tuipulotu, brother of Waratah Mosese and Scotland's Sione.

Also joining the group will be centre Divad Palu and fly half Joey Fowler who have both impressed in the Rebels U19s team in 2023.

Recent NSW Waratahs debutant Jack Barrett headlines the inclusions as the squad builds towards July's U20 World Championships.

Barrett made his Super Rugby Pacific debut against the Rebels in round six, coming in as a late replacement for Wallaby Angus Bell.

The ACT Brumbies enjoy the most representation, with ten players selected from the nation's capital.

It comes after they claimed the Super Rugby 19s title with a 20-12 win over the Waratahs.

Flyhalf Cullen Gray, centre Jarrah McLeod, props Tevita Alatini and Lington Ieli and fullback Shane Wilcox are amongst several players that have featured for Brumbies Runners in 2024.

Meanwhile, Barrett is joined by Sevens development player and fellow Waratah Aden Ekanyake.

Ekanyake captained Australian Schools & U18s in the opening clash against New Zealand last year before linking up with John Manenti's wider squad for 2023-24.

They are two of nine Waratahs included in the squad, including winger Archie Saunders and flanker Austin Durbidge.

There are six Queenslanders in the squad, headlined by Reds squad member Frankie Goldsbrough, with Force flyer Rohan Leahy one of five from the west.

The Australians will open their U20 campaign against Argentina on May 2 before facing South Africa (May 7) and New Zealand (May 12)

Australia U20s preliminary TRC squad


Joey Fowler

Divad Palu

Judah Saumaisue

Ottavio Tuipulotu


Tevita Alatini

Drew Brndusic

Harvey Cordukes

Cullen Gray

Jack Harley

Lington Ieli

Jarrah McLeod

Toby Macpherson

Angus Staniforth

Shane Wilcox


Boston Fakafanua

Ronan Leahy

Douglas Philipson

Dane Sawers

Kauri Tipene-Grace


Ollie Barrett

Nick Bloomfield

Ben Daniels

Frankie Goldsbrough

Joe Liddy

Will McCulloch

Xavier Rubens


Jack Barrett

Ben Di Staso

Austin Durbridge

Bryn Edwards

Aden Ekanayake

Olli McCrea

Archie Saunders

Hwi Sharples

Nathaniel Tiitii

Match Report: Rebels Fight for the Fans in Tough Contest at Home
Super Rugby Pacific Round 13: Melbourne Rebels v Chiefs
Rebels ready to take opportunity to become greatest ever side
Melbourne Rebels Look to Fire With Physicality to Take on Chiefs